Armacost Library
Citing Electronic Sources
How do I cite electronic sources?
See how this issue is addressed by different the different styles. Click on the links provided and look for the highlighted term "electronic."
Collecting Information
As you collect sources for your assignment, keep citation style requirements in mind. In particular, you may be required to include the following in your references.
- author(s)/editor(s)
- titles of articles, chapters, books, periodicals, etc.
- publication date
- date accessed (usually for electronic sources)
- web page URL (http://....)
- publisher
- city of publication
- page number(s)
- database used
- edition used
- volume number(s)
- issue number(s)
- print or electronic format used
- series number (sometimes provided)
Comments (0)
Why Cite?
(continued after the jump)
Online Style Guides and Special Formats
These online citation style guides provide overviews, for more in-depth coverage and for more obscure types of resources use the actual style guides found in the Library's collection.
- The OWL (Online Writing Lab) at PurduePurdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides a wealth of information for the student writer. Use the Research and Citation link for further information on APA, Chicago, and MLA citation styles.
- APA Style Guide from California State University, NorthridgePDF guide to APA Style from Oviatt Library at CSU Northridge.
- APA Style from Purdue UniversityIncludes a perfectly formatted APA sample paper!
- Documenting Sources in the Social Sciences (APA)This helpful Website by Diana Hacker includes an example list of references, in-text citations, and a complete sample paper with notes on how the manuscript was formatted in APA style.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online The Chicago Manual of Style's brief overview of citing the most commonly cited items (book, articles, websites, etc.).
- Turabian Citation GuideA quick Turabian guide from the official University of Chicago Press web site for Turabian's A Manual for Writers, 7th edition. Provides examples of various citations in the reference list style and bibliography style.
- University of Richmond Libraries: Citing Sources--Turabian: ElectronicProvides examples of citing electronic media using Turabian's A Manual for Writers, 7th edition.
- McMaster University Libraries: Turabian Style GuideProvides an easy-to-use grid of different citation samples for various types of publications, each with a generic citation, a footnote, and a bibliography citation. The guide is based on Turabian, 7th edition.
- How to Cite an ImageCiting an image can be tricky. This cite tells you what bits of information will be necessary to properly cite an image, whether found in a book or online. See specific citation style guides in order to format those bits of information.
- General Guidelines for Citing Government PublicationsFrom the University of North Texas Libraries.





Loading...
