This is the "Definitions" page of the "Glossary of Research Terms" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Glossary of Research Terms 

"Do you understand the words that are coming out of my mouth?"
Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.redlands.edu/glossary  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates \"ShareThis\"

Definitions            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

For more information

 

Rate This

Let us know if there are any other definitions you would like to see here. Thanks!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not much, 5 = Extremely)

Please provide comments to help improve this page:


Your email address, so we can get back to you:


 
 

Definitions

from Brent and MariLynnDefining the alien language of research and what it means for you.

A-C D-J K-Q R-Z

abstract -- an article summary usually located at the beginning of an academic source. USE: Since most academic articles are quite lengthy, readers appreciate this brief explanation to determine how valuable it is to their research. If a topic is mentioned in the abstract, it is likely to be a main focal point.

academic source -- an in-depth article, journal, book, etc. usually written by a field expert for other field experts. It's scope is usually narrow, field-specific language is often used, and is usually published by a university or a scholarly society. Academic sources are sometimes called "scholarly." USE:  Most college research should come from academic sources since they are considered highly quality.

annotated bibliography -- a bibliography with a brief explanation of each item. USE: see bibliography.

bibliography -- a list of citations focused on a given topic. They can be a stand-alone document or mentioned at the end of a document. USE: Saves time having already compiled sources focused on a common topic. However, pay attention to the currency of the bibliography ensuring sources listed aren't decades old.

call number -- the "address" of an item. USE: Libraries use call numbers to organize and locate all physical resources.

catalog -- a database of physical items (books, scores, periodicals, DVDs, etc.) housed at the library. USE: Identifies relevant sources and provides their call numbers (addresses) to locate the item.

citation -- a reference to a specific work. USE: Use the information provided by the citation to locate the work in the citation finder. It will determine whether or not Armacost has access to the item's full-text. If not, students must look elsewhere to get it.

course reserves -- materials reserved by course instructors for their students. You can search for course reserves by professor name, course name, and course number.

database -- a collection of electronic material (books, articles, citations, etc.) USE: To spend less time searching for what you need, you need to spend more time understanding how to best communicate w/the database. Take a minute to carefully looking at the search options before and after doing a search. Often offered are suggested search terms, limiting results by date of publication, limiting to only full-text documents, etc.

descriptor -- a subject heading. USE:  A term for subject heading often used in databases.

Return to the top

full-text -- all of the text. NOTE:  The provision of full-text articles is not guaranteed. (See index.) USES: (1) A search can be limited to only those documents that provide full-text for their articles. (2) A full-text search will search everywhere to see if the search word/phrase was used at least once. Consequently, there will be many results, some of which have nothing to do with your topic.  

index -- a kind of database that tells users where to look to find information on a particular topic. Indexes do NOT provide the information itself in full-text. USE: Like an English pointer, it tells you where to look.

interlibrary loan -- an item borrowed by one library from another library. USE: When students need an item not available at Armacost, they can request a book, CD, DVD, musical score, or a journal article and Armacost will try to borrow it for them.

journal -- a periodical of original research that typically employs the peer-review process to ensure publication of high quality information. USE: Journals are recommended, scholarly information sources because of the rigorous process authors must endure to have their research published.

keyword -- an unofficial term related to the official subject heading of an item. E.g. Four items may be assigned the official subject heading canine but each may use a different unofficial keyword--dog, pooch, puppy, and hound. USE: While keywords vary and are somewhat random, subject headings are standard and consistent. Conducting keyword searches can lead you to the appropriate subject heading(s). 

Return to the top

peer-review -- a rigorous process by which original research in the form of a manuscript is evaluated and then either approved or rejected for publication by subject experts. See the video below to learn more. USE: Incorporating high-quality, peer-reviewed work (usually in the form of a journal article) can enhance the quality of student projects and earn better grades.

 

periodical -- a serial publication that may be released daily, weekly, monthly, etc. Some examples are newspapers, magazines, and journals. USE: Periodicals can be excellent sources for the most up-to-date information.

primary source -- an original, first-hand account of something. E.g. a personal diary, footage caught by a cell phone and posted to YouTube, testimony from a crime witness, or a song. USE: While primary sources are created all the time, they get damaged, lost, or destroyed. Primary sources that remain thus become more and more valuable to researchers who seek to learn more.

Return to the top

refereed -- an item that has gone through the peer-review process. See academic source.

reference -- a good starting point for students that provides background information students need to understand to conduct fruitful searches.

scholarly source -- See academic source.

secondary source -- a work derived from a primary source. E.g. commentary about a diary or testimony, or criticism about a particular YouTube video or popular song. USE: With typically multiple secondary sources based on a single primary source, secondary sources are more readily available but not necessarily valued as highly as primary sources.

subject heading -- an official term assigned to an item. USE: This standard vocabulary is useful to searches on a particular topic. Awareness of a particular subject heading minimizes the need to search with multiple keyword terms. E.g. The subject heading conservation can eliminate the need to do various keyword searches such as recycling, green initiatives, and renewable energy.

Return to the top

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait